Skip to content

My Mini-Garden (2)

July 22, 2012

A couple of months of sunshine and rain have been beneficial to my mini-garden. Last year’s plants are doing very well, like these hydrangeas, but this year’s hydrangeas are going through a difficult time once they passed flowering. New shoots are developing, but slowly.

Nevertheless, these girls are doing fine, setting an example to their less developed congeners.

These flowers are amongst those I didn’t plant myself, but they are most welcome.

Just like these. I think it’s lavender, but I’m not sure.

And what are these? To be frank, I don’t have a f****g clue.

This is next to my house, over the road. Do you spot the black cat?

My Labrador Boris (Drinka Pinta Milka Day of Tintagel Winds) never barks. Never. There’s one exception, though. When he was still a puppy and I took him home to my place in Nice, in the South of France, I took him for a little walk, where he was viciously attacked by a stray black cat called Mimi. Out of the blue. Boris was on the leish, and neither he nor I saw it coming. Later I had a cat called Boots, and Boris loved her to bits, and he’s friendly to other cats too, but ever since that tragic event in Nice he barks at black cats – once, maybe twice, just to let this potential ‘Mimi’ know that she needs to f*****g back off.
This time Boris didn’t spot the black cat, so tranquility on this Sunday morning was preserved.

My true passion is with tropical and subtropical plants, though. Hélas, they don’t really agree with Dutch climate, so they need to be in the house, at least when temperature drops below 15° C.

 

2 Comments leave one →
  1. July 22, 2012 5:55 pm

    foto 4 is volgens mij lavendel, kan het niet zo goed zien, of riddersporen (Delphinium). foto 5 is salvia, een saliesoort.
    kun je dat stukje aan de overkant er niet bij krijgen?

  2. July 22, 2012 6:09 pm

    Hoi Hanneke, bedankt! Dat stukje aan de overkant hoort bij de volkstuintjes, en de wachtlijst is gigantisch lang. Bovendien betekent het hard werken en veel bukken, en dat is met mijn fibromyalgie geen goed idee. Last but not least is de sociale controle op volkstuintjes tamelijk benauwend.

Leave a Reply

