Skip to content

Terra Indonesia

July 30, 2012

This is some soil I took with me from one of my visits to Java in the 1970s.  It means so much to me.

Indonesians are the friendliest people I have ever met. They all remind me so much of my nènnèh, a Javanese woman with French and Portuguese blood.

Indonesia is a country with so many different cultures and traditions, as a result of which people are very tolerant.

Even though I wasn’t born there, I’ve never felt more at home than in Indonesia.

There will come a day when I have to part from this earth. When that happens, I hope to be in Indonesia, the country of my heart.

This is the keris (kris) that was passed on to me by my uncle Maurits when I was a child. During my entire life, whenever I moved to a new house,  I slept with my keris underneath my pillow for a day or two, to make the keris at ease, so it could spread its good spirits through the house and protect me and my family against evil.

My son was born in Jakarta, in 1981, and when he was twelve I gave him his own keris. We were living in Holland at the time, and while he was focusing on Dutch football (Ajax), we still wished each other good night in Indonesian.

“Selamat tidur, Frank.”

“Selamat tidur, Jaap.”

One Comment leave one →
  1. Alvira permalink
    December 3, 2013 1:19 pm

    Ough Jack, ternyata anda masih cinta dengan Indonesia …… kapan datang ke Indonesia ? saya tunggu ya !!!

Leave a Reply

